Wk2- Art Activity-Pushed past the (legal) limit

I was honestly super excited when I received this assignment. I told my mom about it and she couldn’t believe this was a school assignment and said it sounded extremely macabre, but I have a morbid curiosity and am fascinated with all things gore and horror. So when I read that I had to create a scene in which I was dead, my mind jumped to something bloody and gory. Almost immediately, I had the image of a bloody bathtub in my mind. It was really fun for me to create this scene. I had maybe a little too much fun trying to get my fake blood to look as realistic as possible and thinking of the small background details, such as the bloody wine bottle, that would complete the image. Without any further ado, here is the final product.

IMG_1483.JPGIMG_1485.JPGIMG_1492.JPGIMG_1500.JPG

Explanation:

The images depict a girl who returned drunk from a party after a hurtful and damaging social interaction that influenced her to end her life. The combination of the alcohol mixed with the hurtful social interaction pushed her past her limit, causing her to commit suicide. While I mentioned having fun creating these photos, I do not, in any way, wish to take away from the seriousness of suicide. Approximately one million people commit suicide a year. That 3,000 a day. These suicides are most commonly the result of undiagnosed and untreated or mistreated depression. This means, that in most cases, it could have been prevented. For me, this assignment really served as a reminder of the importance of treating others with kindness. I think it is important to remember that everyone is dealing with their own battles and we can have no idea of knowing what a person is really dealing with underneath the surface. Millions of Americans suffer from depression and many of them may just be one hurtful interaction away from ending it all. And, on the other hand, there are lots of people who may just one friendly interaction away from deciding NOT to end it all. While taking these pictures, I couldn’t help but to put myself in the shoes of someone contemplating suicide. The key takeaway from this assignment for me was how important it is to be kind to one another. You never know what a simple smile may mean to a person. I whole heartedly believe, that when it comes down to it, we are all more or less the same. At our cores, we are all really just searching for love and acceptance. There’s a lot going on in the world right now and I know we don’t all agree on how to interpret it all, but once we realize we are all more or less the same, how can we decide to treat one another with anything else but kindness?

Leave a Reply

